Pancakes and Spin Parties

Day 6.  This afternoon my husband made homemade pancakes for him and our son. The smell of sizzling fried bacon and fluffy pancake goodness filled our home.

Sometimes it's just not worth it.

Sometimes It’s just not worth it.

Pancakes were not on my agenda. But the aroma was raping my nose.  So I went to the furthest corner of our home and opened a window.  It’s February.  Had to clear my olfactory. This was NUTS!

I felt in control but to be on the safe side, I posted this little situation in my Biggest Loser’s group and promptly sent a text to my boot camp trainer.  Then I was accountable to someone else other than self.  As the crispness settled in I reflected.  I wasn’t hungry.  In fact, since I started Briant’s meal plan I’ve NEVER been hungry, which is a crazy, beautiful thing.  So this was psychological, emotional, maybe even nostalgic. I wasn’t sure of what it was.  I was sure I wouldn’t give in.  I didn’t. Non-scale victory number one.

Windows now closed, I cleared their dishes and felt a strong sense of power. In my Tony Scott voice, “Yeah man.”  I can do this.  I prepared and ate my dinner, excited about getting back to the gym.  I can’t remember being this excited to exercise.

My first spin class in about 3 years. Briant and I had crossed paths before.  He was my former spin instructor at my previous gym.  Something about him and his classes make you feel like you can do anything. Then he vanished and that gym seemed to not know where he went.  We meet again by fluke and this time he has his own gym. Same signature style high energy, nurturing and super inspiring.

It was like being at a dance party only on a bike.  The only thing missing was the strobe light. I was hyped.  Maybe a little too hyped. I wondered briefly how much weight a pedal could hold, maybe bouncing like that was not a good idea. He stopped at my bike several times to check on me and tell me to take it easy.  I tried to but the music was driving me.  Missy Elliott making me lose control. The seats on those bikes are not suited for large behinds which works by default.  It made me stand up and pedal a lot.  Sometimes I would have to slow down and sometimes I would just have to stop for a few seconds, but I didn’t quit.  Then an old school jam I hadn’t heard in years came on. Sweat pouring from my face, my badge of honor.  Disgusting.  I hated it.  I loved it.  It’s complicated deliverance. Then the music stopped.  It was over.  I was thrilled.  I had survived.

Afterward his wife goes over the meal plan with me to make sure I understand. Somehow I didn’t remember reading about the cheat/free day.  That was exciting. She tells me to see Briant before I leave.  He tells me that he is really excited about working with me. His only request: don’t quit.  I’m honored and humbled cause I need a lot of work, lots of help.  Glancing down at the globe on my abdominals, quitting is not an option.

I firmly believe that any man’s finest hour, the greatest fulfillment of all that he holds dear, is that moment when he has worked his heart out in a good cause and lies exhausted on the field of battle – victorious. –Vince Lombardi
2 thoughts on “Pancakes and Spin Parties

  1. LOVE THIS POST!!

    The feel of victory and your “badge of honor” stays with you – it pushes you and inspires you…keep up the great work. 🙂

Leave a Reply

