Cheater Cheater Biscuit Eater!

Day 12.  Somewhere around 4pm, I realized stress was creeping in.  Everything was on the horizon coming into view all at once.  No matter how many homes I saved from foreclosure there were always more files begging for my review and slowly piling up.  I’ll have to put in some longer days to keep from drowning.  Then the book printer/distributor calls unable to find my title revision that was uploaded 3 days ago, it needs resubmission.  Soon after, my crew arrives and my home is buzzing with little squirt and husband noises accessorized with questions about field trips, taxes, the tooth fairy and when we’re getting a dog. 

 So I settle in and prepare for checking items off my checklist when I realized I needed to eat.  If I waited I would be too hungry and I would binge.  Chicken and green beans for everybody.  At the drive-thru I ordered oven roasted, requested it three times.  When I checked the order, it was all fried.  I sent it back and asked for oven roasted.  She apologized over and over, corrected the order and happily explained how she added biscuits for my trouble.  WHAT!  No, lady! Biscuits ARE my trouble. At least that’s what I said in my head.  Why didn’t I tell her that?

Instead I ate my oven roasted chicken, green beans and more than half of the biscuit I decided I would eat.  I ate the whole thing.   Now don’t misunderstand, there is nothing wrong with having a biscuit.  I didn’t plan to have a biscuit and there were better choices.  This is about making the better choice.  There are many different ways I could have handled that but I decided not to beat myself up about it.  I get back up and keep going from here.  The old me would have dwelled on this while eating MORE comfort food then deciding to start again on Monday.  I start again right now. 

Our greatest glory is not in never failing, but in rising up every time we fail.  ~Ralph Waldo Emerson

Leave a Reply

