Bury My Heart At Wounded Knee

Knee X-ray

Image via Wikipedia

It’s like rain on your wedding day
It’s a free ride when you’ve already paid
It’s the good advice that you just didn’t take
Who would’ve thought… it figures

  

My right knee is a bit weak.  In an effort to protect it, I bought a support, the kind you just step into.  Little did I know the brace was too small.  It felt fine when I put it on, then again it was my first time ever trying one on.  It felt fine when I worked out it in.

 

The next morning my knee, like yeast had doubled in size. I could hardly stand.  What in the world?  It was kind of scary.  I finally found something I enjoy and can commit to and now this.  I phoned the doc and he wanted to see me right away.  He told me to rest it, elevate and ice it for 2 days 800mg ibuprofen 3x a day and then warm heat for the next two.  After that he will evaluate it again.  If I feel fine then it was just the brace being too snug, if not then it’s something else.  I’m praying it was just the brace.  He said that I could go to boot camp as long as I didn’t put any added weight on it.  Hmm, how do I do that?  Sounds like I may have to take spinning classes for the next couple of days, most of the weight would be on my butt for that.

 

Some swelling has gone down since this morning and I have a larger range of motion but it is still very tender.  Didn’t make boot camp tonight.  Hate that.  I’ll do something tomorrow even if it’s march in place.  Pray for me please.   Until next time…

 

 

   

 

One thought on “Bury My Heart At Wounded Knee

  1. Oh girl, this is a problem I knew all too well.

    Two years ago, I had the WORST knee pain all of the time. If I was on my feet for more than 15 minutes at a time – my knee was swollen and sore. I started wearing a brace – a lot. The brace was given to me by my doctor. I was told by a medical professional to wear it to help with the pain.

    Last year, during boot camp, it was my personal trainer that told me DON’T EVER PUT THAT BRACE BACK ON YOUR KNEE!!! Yes, yelling was involved.
    Braces help with the pain -and they take the pressure off of the knee – but end up making the knee weak…and that’s horrible for someone trying to work-out and lose weight.
    Today, I still have a few problems in my left knee just because it is so much weaker than my right knee. The pain is gone – but it’s a lot harder to do exercises focusing on my left knee.
    So, my advice – do what the doc said…you need to take the time off and heal… but DON’T EVER PUT THAT BRACE BACK ON YOUR LEG, AGAIN…mmmkay??

Leave a Reply

