It’s A Journey Not A Destination

Nothing motivates weight loss like weight loss.  Dropping 50 pounds has been freeing. The angst has been replaced with anticipation.  Anticipation of the next big thing, physically. I have been amazed by how much and how quickly the body changes when pushed. 

This morning I ran 2 miles and up and down the bleachers.  This evening I ran another 2 miles and completed 30 minutes of spin class.  Just two months ago, I wasn’t able to do that.

I remember being at the track in tears dreading the run.  Tears because I knew I had to do it but I just didn’t want to.  I could have gone home but quitting wasn’t an option.   Today I look forward to it.  I look forward to the sweat, my body’s acknowledgement of honest effort. 

I remember the bike seat in spin class being MURDER on my butt!  Lately, I don’t feel it at all, ninety percent of the time I am standing and it feels great to stand and spin instead of sit and pant.  I have definitely come a long way and it has at times been difficult.  I still have a long way to go.

The hardest part has been patience, I’m a zero to 60 type of girl.  Weight loss isn’t that way.  It a slow journey with lots of wonderful mistakes along the way if you’re doing it right..  Inch by inch it’s a cinch, yard by yard it’s hard.  I’m enjoying the journey.

One thought on “It’s A Journey Not A Destination

  1. Whoo hoo!!! Kudos Mon Trice. Keep up the good work. I’m gonna have some results myself when I go for vacation. It’s pedal to the medal. Good job!

Leave a Reply

