SUDDENLY RAW VEGAN

Yeah I know, it’s a bit extreme.  Desperate times call for desperate measures.  Sometimes you can get into the kind of trouble that backs you into a corner forcing you to do a thing you wouldn’t ordinarily do in terms of survival.  My kind of trouble, like most African-American women of child bearing age is fibroid tumors.  I either have two of them the size of grapefruits or one very large one.  They could not tell by the ultrasound.  Normally fibroid tumors aren’t a big deal.  A doctor will normally tell you, if it ain’t bothering you, then don’t bother it.  It’s bothering me.

Last Monday, I began hemorrhaging.  I was scared. On Tuesday morning I sat before a naturopathic doctor weighing my options.  Unless I wanted a hysterectomy, I would need to radically change my diet to raw vegetables and fruits, nuts and nut pastes, beans, seeds, plant oils, sea vegetables, herbs, fresh juices (except orange juice) and plenty of water. I would also need to use castor oil packs and drink a custom herb tea everyday to be totally rid of the fibroids.  There was just one small problem.

For the last seven years, my husband and I have hosted a Labor Day BBQ for both sides of our families.  It was five days away and I am being asked to give up eating meat.  I had already switched to organic meat but that would not be good enough due to the estrogen component naturally present in meat.  I started looking for Ashton Kutcher, was I being punked? As anxious as I was she could have prescribed sautéed rocks and I would have complied if it would help my situation.  I agreed to the change and accepted it with open arms.  That’s when she told me that she had been plagued with fibroids in her early twenties but she was only given the option of a hysterectomy.  After tons of research, she healed herself. I was satisfied  and totally resolved to carrying it through.

That was nine days ago.  I made it through the BBQ and remained meatless.  Surprisingly, I really like it.  I eat and drink all day.  My blood sugar seems to remain stable all day long.  I have not been hungry.  I haven’t had any cravings. My weigh-in at BKM boot camp was tonight and I lost 5 pounds this week. As with most changes you just have to have a willingness and an open mind.

Leave a Reply

