What Clicked?

A friend sent me a Facebook message asking what finally clicked for me to make the lifestyle change.  He asked several weeks ago and I’ve been thinking about the question ever since.  There was no single “aha” moment but a series of events that began my journey. 

The beginning of the year was one of the happiest moments of my life.  I had begun promoting my first children’s book Changing Seasons. My readings with the children are interactive, before I leave I talk to them about following their dreams.  “You can do anything you set your mind too”, I would always say that.  It felt fraudulent. 

With all I had accomplished, I had not mastered controlling my body.  I was the heaviest I had ever been.  I could feel it, my weight was beginning to affect my movement.  At the grocery store I would always get a cart no matter how many items I needed.  The cart was for me not the food, I needed it to get around.  Whenever I would walk longer than five minutes my lower back would scream; debilitating pain.

Then there were the pills.  I hate pills.  I had hypertension, high blood pressure.  I was on two different types of medicine with no sign of ever getting off.  Did I mention I hate pills? I didn’t want to take them anymore.  So I committed to move more.  It was a very general but firm committment.  Move more than before, everyday.

Had no idea that single committment would lead to so much more.  I went from the Richard Simmons VHS tapes to an all out fitness boot camp.  I work out an hour a day, five days a week.  I have lost over 60 pounds since January. I no longer have hypertension. And who the heck needs a shopping cart? I’m now a vegetarian who shops for fresh fruits and veggies several times a week. The little red hand basket works nicely. I can run an easy 3 miles. I’m not fast but I can finish with a strong turbo turtle shuffle.  I am currently training for a half marathon in April.  I am in the best shape of my life.  I still have a way to my goal weight but I have never felt better. Now when I say, “you can do anything you set you mind too”, it’s completely genuine.
      “There’s a difference between interest and commitment. When you’re interested in doing something, you do it only when circumstance permit. When you’re committed to something, you accept no excuses, only results.” – Unknown

One thought on “What Clicked?

Leave a Reply

