JUST DO IT

JUST DO ITMotivation is so overrated.  Where motivation ends, discipline must step in. 

This week has not been kind.  Sinus and allergy issues plague me.   It created a cough I can’t shake.  My knee, although healing, is still tender.  Last but not least, I have cramps.  My high school gym teacher, Ms. Archibald, would tell all the girls that working out alleviates cramps.  I wish I could find her.  It didn’t work then and it doesn’t work now.

This evening I was feeling pretty lousy.  I was supposed to run at noon but the allergy medicine had kicked in and I was too sleepy and it was cold outside.  So I didn’t go.  Then I thought I would go after I picked up the little one from school.  Once in route, I realized I had left my gym bag which had my Ace bandage for my knee in it.   So, back home I went.  When I got home I was hungry so I ate a salad.  Then I decided it’s not good to run right after eating, besides my spin class was in an hour.  I went to spin instead of running.

Spin class was great but my running schedule stayed in my head. I didn’t really have a week or a run to lose if I plan on the 5 mile St. Patrick’s race and the half marathon in April.  At that point it was a quarter til 7pm and it was dark outside.  I’d have to take the running to the treadmill.  I didn’t want to do it.  I called my friend in Dallas.  Once she answered I said, “I don’t wanna run. Say something to get me there.”  She reminding me that people were reading my blog and asked if that helped.  In a very flat alto voice I said, “No.”  We both laughed.   She then said, “You’ll do it.  This is one of those days when you find out what you’re made of.  Just do it. Run it. Blog it and then call me back”,  after that she hung up.

So I get to the gym.  The windows were fogged and folks packed in like sardines.  I reached inside my gym bag.  No ace bandage.   In my Florida Evan’s voice, “Damn! Damn! Damn!”  I was batting a thousand.  Oh well, I knew I couldn’t leave or I really wouldn’t do it.  My Ipod and I trudged along. 

A twenty something, whom I’ll call Perky kept staring.  She was about three treadmills over.  I wanted to yell at her, “What’s the matter, never seen a fat girl run before?”  I didn’t yell it, but the thought of it made me laugh.  I knew she couldn’t help it.  I was a moving oxymoron.  The run wasn’t bad.  The last half mile was a bit of a struggle.  I concentrated on my form since I didn’t have my bandage.  Being careful not to injure myself all over again. With more than a walk but less than a sprint, I finished my 2 miles.  My t-shirt was soaked and I wasn’t tired.   As I got off the treadmill, Perky smiled and gave me a thumbs up.  I smiled back.  I actually felt better.  Maybe Ms. Archibald had a point after all.

“You can’t get much done in life if you only work on the days when you feel good.” – Jerry West 

 

 

 

One thought on “JUST DO IT

Leave a Reply

