Wizard Of Oz

Way Back Wednesday Spin class is ALWAYS out of control. Briant keeps changing it up and making the most outrageous performance requests because he knows we will rise to the occasion. This Wednesday I walked in and the woman known as Oz had taken position on the bike to my left.

Oz has been spinning for at least 5 years and she ain’t (yeah I said ain’t) no joke. I was nervous as hell. She is one of the best at BKM. There are several others in her league. I didn’t wanna spin next to her because that would draw attention to all my weaknesses. Making me look bad. Oz spins fast, on beat and adds dancing moves in. Sometimes she will just start sprinting just because, without being asked!

With her long locs braided back and secured with a scarf she got on the bike like she was about to start a rodeo. Then she warned me that sometimes she gets so into the music that her arms may bump me. That was fine, I told her as long as she didn’t knock me off my bike we were cool.

I strapped my feet into the harnesses praying this wouldn’t be an M and M class. A couple of Saturdays ago Briant made me sprint 3 times in a row. Back to back. He was asking for another before I could get to one. Then he went through the class calling on every M he could find: Missy, Monette, Monica and then back to me. I wished my momma had named me something else. I was hoping he wasn’t in an M mood.

Once class started, I checked Oz’s feet and made it my business to match her rotation. She must have seen me checking cause she started calling out her moves for me. When she dipped left, she’d call out LEFT and the right elbow would go up. She would do the same for the right side. Man, that mess was hard! It was tough enough just trying to keep up with her on the good foot.

And just when I thought I couldn’t take anymore, Briant started telling us to bring it on home. That meant it’s the last song. Oz was urging, “Come on.” Evelyn Champaign King was singing about a low down dirty shame. The song was at least 10 minutes long, that was a shame. I was tired, weak and determined. Finish strong I kept telling myself. I finally caught on to Oz’s routine. We’d dip right and look left, dip left and look right then bounce forward down to the handle bars and back up and repeat the whole thing.

Even without my glasses, I could see 32 pointing and smiling. We were ROLLIN! She was proud. Briant stopped in front of us and yelled, “They ridin’ yall!” He took the picture, but it doesn’t do us justice. After class Oz told me she enjoyed spinning with me and that I did well. I couldn’t stop grinning and to think there was a time when I couldn’t stand through an entire song.

Until next time…

Don’t wait until everything is just right. It will never be perfect. There will always be challenges, obstacles and less than perfect conditions. So what. Get started now. With each step you take, you will grow stronger and stronger, more and more skilled, more and more self-confident and more and more successful.” – Mark Victor Hansen

Leave a Reply

