HeeHaw!

Once again I was late for spin class.  I couldn’t get out of work fast enough.  Spin started at five thirty.  I arrived at five thirty-three.  All the bikes were taken and they were warming up.  I decided to spin anyway.

I rushed down the street to my backup plan, Club Fitness.  Not my first choice but I needed to get it in.  No excuses only results.  I checked in at the desk and the lady gave me a red number to give to the instructor.  Once in class the instructor who was extremely nice, came over to tell me all about spin.  She had no idea.  She wanted to make sure that I took it easy since it was my first class.  She had no idea.  She insisted on showing me how to set up my bike like only a good instructor would do.  Again, she had no idea.  I guess I should have told her that I was hardly new to spin but hey this is Missouri, the show me state. I was going to have fun with this.

The very first song was a country song.  Now, I have nothing against country music, I happen to love Trace Adkins and Gretchen Wilson.  There is a time and place for everything.  When it comes to spinning, I am strictly a Hip-Hop and R&B kind of girl.  So we are warming up to a song about a rumor of a woman cheating on her husband, when I realized there were only 6 of us in the entire class.  At first we are sitting then she has us stand up in position 2.  A fast song I had never heard before came on.  We were instructed to sit for 4 rotations, position 2 for 4 rotations and then position 3 for four rotations, then repeat at your own pace.  Now that is something you would not hear at BKM.  You might be told to pick up the pace.  I did as I was told, my pace was a BKM pace.  Spin bike $1,500.oo, gym membership $30.00, the expression on the instructor’s face when she realized I was no newbie, priceless.

A song I had not heard before came on.  Music will make or break a class.  So far, I was broken and missing my home gym but making it work. We were back and forth between position 2 and 3.  When the song ended, it was time for a seated water break. Really?  This was all foreign to me.  I kept spinning.  Yeah, I was showing  out a bit only because I could.  I only wished I had my orange BKM shirt on.  The woman’s priceless face was showing again. This was Kindercare and BKM was graduate school.  Where I came from I’m just an “okay” spinner.  She would fall off  her bike if one of the REAL riders were here.  The thought made me laugh out loud.  She wasn’t ready.  Another fast song and I was showing out again, sprinting, bouncing  and doing the dips I had learned from Oz the night before.  I had a new appreciation for all the trainers at BKM they pushed you, they helped you realize your potential. I rode hard  like that until the last 10 minutes of class.  I left early to catch the circuit training at BKM.

When I walked through the doors of BKM, circuit had already begun.  Briant yells at Deek, “Well, look who finally decides to show up!”  I shook my head and hung up my coat.  He had no idea.

Until next time…

People underestimate their capacity for change. There is never a right time to do a difficult thing. A leader’s job is to help people have vision of their potential.” – John Porter

Leave a Reply

