DISCIPLINE TRUMPS MOTIVATION

I fought back the tears. “I am so very proud of you” Briant mused as he peered over his glasses. I had just weighed in after a month of no activity and I had not gained a single pound. Although he was pleased, I knew he was also surprised.  I had been thrown into maintenance phase with no warning and without exercise or support, to remain the same weight without exercise is difficult.  “When you come back, you’re going to have to take it easy.”  I did a double take. Take it easy? Coming out of Mr. BKM’s mouth? Never thought I would hear that. I muttered to him I wasn’t sure of how to do that.  For over a year he had taught me to go hard or go home.  It had become the only way I knew.  Arms folded across his chest, “Your body will teach you, trust me.”

Just Don't QuitIt had been a little over a month since I had left any sweat at BKM Boot Camp. With surgery it would be at least another 6 weeks before I could resume my workouts again.  My fibroid tumors had become extremely symptomatic forcing me to restricted activity. It was challenging.  My boot camp had become my Zen, the place where I could pound away the stress, The place where illusions are dropped, clarity created and even when I am surrounded by a sea of people I become centered and focused in my own thoughts and progression of goal.  I missed my fitness family, we were all invested in each other’s success.  My Zen was no longer available to me, I had to find something else. This forced me to clean eating since heavy movement was not an option.

In fact, the last few months had been filled with swift transition: a change in job, a move, a separation and  major surgery. What I have learned is your circumstances are irrelevant to your goal.  I had truly hit a point of no return.  I was halfway to my weight goal and turning to old habits and using food as therapy was truly a thing of the past. I couldn’t do it and through all the trials I didn’t want to. My body craved my boot camp like an addict craves one more hit.

Am I perfect? Nope. Do I always stick to the meal plan? No, I have times when I “cheat”.  I always learn from those. The one thing that I don’t do is quit.  Life will continue to happen all around you and to you.  You can not let that stop you. If it were easy, we’d all be fit. Where options are not available, they must be created.  Don’t be afraid to ask for help.  Just don’t quit. The mental discipline is like Chinese algebra, but I am up for the challenge.

Until next time…

“The first and the best victory is to conquer self.” Plato

4 thoughts on “DISCIPLINE TRUMPS MOTIVATION

Leave a Reply

