Balance

balance

The half marathon training is in full swing.  Once I let go of placing judgment on time and let go of self-doubt it became easier.  However, self doubt is like a weed, I have to constantly pull it up and throw it out.

The only difficulty about this training so far is battling to keep it in the #1 priority slot of life.  There have been numerous things thrown at me.  They aren’t all bad things.  Mostly good things.  Opportunities actually.  Opportunities that demand a huge chunk of my time. Opportunities that have shown up to fight with my training schedule.

So mentally and emotionally, I am drained and in the process of refilling my cup.  I won the battle by the way.  It was hard as hell.  I gave my all to my proposal submission AND kept my training schedule AND handled the additional workload AND balanced the mother hat and the wife hat.

Perhaps I too easily take the all or nothing approach, feeling like I had to choose one over the other.  Balance is what I chose.  Balance left no sacrifice.  Balance was key to having it all work out.

Until next time…

Part of getting older is realizing that you can integrate all these different areas of your life, rather than the adolescent mindset, which for me lasted a long time, which says, ‘It’s all or nothing. Chris Robinson

Leave a Reply

